The Whole Gospel in a Single Verse, Part 2 (Understanding God’s Great Salvation Episode #81)

Welcome to the Understanding God’s Great Salvation Podcast. This is episode #81.

I am your host, Daniel Whyte III, president of Gospel Light Society International. This podcast is designed to explain what it means to be saved from sin and from the punishment of sin through Jesus Christ. This podcast is primarily for non-believers and some new believers and it will help you understand what it means to be saved from hell and have a home in Heaven as well as the blessings of the abundant Christian life.

God made salvation simple. However, down through the years many people, including some preachers and other Christians, have made the matter of salvation complicated and confusing. I know from my own experience that many people would get saved if someone would sit down and share with them straightforwardly from the Bible what it really means to accept Jesus Christ as their Saviour. That is what I intend to do with this podcast.

Let’s start out with the Word of God. The Bible says in Matthew 9:9-13: “And as Jesus passed forth from thence, he saw a man, named Matthew, sitting at the receipt of custom: and he saith unto him, Follow me. And he arose, and followed him. And it came to pass, as Jesus sat at meat in the house, behold, many publicans and sinners came and sat down with him and his disciples. And when the Pharisees saw it, they said unto his disciples, Why eateth your Master with publicans and sinners? But when Jesus heard that, he said unto them, They that be whole need not a physician, but they that are sick. But go ye and learn what that meaneth, I will have mercy, and not sacrifice: for I am not come to call the righteous, but sinners to repentance.”

Today’s God’s Great Salvation quote is from Martyn Lloyd-Jones. He said: “The Gospel is open to all; the most respectable sinner has no more claim on it than the worst.”

Our topic today is The Whole Gospel in a Single Verse (Part 2) from the book, “Salvation Crystal Clear” (Book 1) by Curtis Hutson.

You will notice that Jesus came to save sinners without qualification. There is no adjective before the noun. “This is a faithful saying, and worthy of all acceptation, that Christ Jesus came…to save sinners.”

Much of our doctrine and some of our beliefs come from songs we sing or hear. Some songwriters have done an injustice by qualifying sinners. For instance, some speak of “humble sinners,” “trembling sinners,” “sorrowing sinners.” The songs put a qualifying word before sinners, but the Bible does not.

I used to think that before I could be saved I had to be a sorrowing sinner. The problem was, I didn’t know how much I had to sorrow to be the kind of sinner that Jesus came to save. I worked long trying to make myself feel sorry for my sin. I would feel sorry, but I often wondered, Am I sorry enough? Others wept; and because I didn’t, I thought, Perhaps I am not feeling sorry enough for my sins.

I find comfort in this verse. There is no qualifying word before sinners. Jesus Christ came to save sinners—period. Trying to earn salvation through our goodness is like one drop of perfume in an ocean of filth. The truth is, we don’t have one drop of goodness in us.

Read our description in Romans, chapter 3. Here Paul describes us from the crown of our head to the sole of our feet. He says our mouth is an open sepulcher, our feet are swift to run to mischief and shed innocent blood—God’s description of the sinner. We are all sinners. God Almighty sees all of us the same—respectable and disreputable sinners, but sinners nonetheless.

He not only came to save sinners without qualification, and not only to save all sorts of sinners; but, shocking as this may sound, He came to save sinners in their pollution.

On our next broadcast, we will continue this topic, “The Whole Gospel in a Single Verse.”

Let’s Pray —

As we close today, let me leave you with these words from Hebrews 2:3: “How shall we escape, if we neglect so great salvation…” I encourage you to not neglect the salvation and grace offered by God. He sent His Son, Jesus Christ, to die on the cross for our sins and take the punishment that we deserve upon Himself. Romans 5:8 says that “God commendeth his love toward us, in that, while we were yet sinners, Christ died for us.”

If you do not know the Lord Jesus Christ as your Savior, and you want to get to know Him today, here is how.

Please believe “that Christ died for our sins according to the scriptures; and that he was buried, and that he rose again the third day according to the scriptures” and you will be saved. The Bible states in the book of Romans 10:9, 13: “That if thou shalt confess with thy mouth the Lord Jesus, and shalt believe in thine heart that God hath raised Him from the dead, thou shalt be saved. For whosoever shall call upon the name of the Lord shall be saved.”

Pray and ask Him to come into your heart and He will. It’s just that simple.

Until next time, my friend, thank God for His simple, great salvation. God bless you!

Leave a comment